Goodbye China!

I am writing this (although this will be uploaded once I’m in Auck) at the airport waiting to board my flight back home. The last time I wrote a blog post at the airport was two months ago when I was flying from Auckland to Guangzhou. Excitement and anticipation pretty much sum up my feelings then. Whereas now, my mood is sad and sentimental.

Airports are emotional places. Or I guess goodbyes are emotional and they often tend to take place at an airport. This quote I found sums up my exact melancholic sentiment: “You get a strange feeling when you’re about to leave a place. Like you’ll not only miss the people you love but you’ll miss the person you are now at this time and this place, because you’ll never be this way ever again.”

I still can’t quite grasp how my time here has come to an end. Two months passes very quickly when you are on holiday, travelling and spending time with family and friends. Essentially, time really does fly when you are having fun. I have had a memorable and amazing time, and I feel utterly blessed. The people I have met and the experiences I have gained are now memories I will cherish.

I’m not quite sure what awaits me in New Zealand. I think that’s partly why I feel like I’m not ready to go back. Being in China has been an ‘in-between’ period between school and uni. It’s almost been like an escape from my life in Auckland. I haven’t accessed Facebook in months- though I am not complaining. There is something very liberating about not needing and not caring about social media. I like taking time away from the known and just spending time to think and be with family in a new place- or one that is not entirely familiar. Most of my friends have started university and it will definitely be a weird feeling for me once I’m back and have no definite agenda. If I don’t find a job I don’t know how I’m going to spend the next few months till uni… To be frank, I’m a little scared with this new direction of where my life is headed. Or maybe I’m being overly dramatic. It’s probably both. China has treated me well but of course all things come to an end.

Leave a Reply

