Creativity for the soul

Image

As I was cutting out my photographs and choosing which sticker font to use while being surrounded by patterned paper, glue and bits and bobs of craft I felt perfectly content and calm. I know what you’re thinking; ‘This girl is out of control.’ Okay, so it may not sound like a pumping time but I can honestly say this creative therapeutic pastime is my ideal Sunday evening.

 

In the past two weeks, I’ve been doing quite a bit of scrapbooking. Scrapbooking is one of those hobbies I claim to love, but rarely have I actually scrapbooked. I went through an intense but short lived phase of scrapbooking and card making mania a couple of years back but have long lost touch with my inner ‘DIY’ self. I am a sentimental person bordering on being maudlin at times who dwells in nostalgia too much for my own good. What better way to channel this aspect of myself than in scrapbooking?

 

Photographs and photography are thoroughly precious and fascinating for me. My first project was getting those world challenge photographs printed (two years late!!). When I was looking through the printed photos I catched details I had never noticed before. I was living vicariously through these photographs of a much treasured and amazing trip in South East Asia.

 

Now, some people may think it’s completely pointless to scrapbook. You may be right. Yes, this scrapbook is probably not going to be seen by many and nor will I get any tangible return from it. Creating art for the fun of it seems to be less popular today. But what makes it so satisfying is that I am doing this solely for personal value.

 

Through the process of scrapbooking, I learned how invaluable creativity is. Sometimes in our lives, with the pressure and stress from school and work, taking the time out to do something purely for ourselves can be so liberating. Something creative. Something that gets the art juices flowing. Some form of self-expression. 

Image

Leave a Reply

